Hi everyone. Please, who can help me with Facebook Adds. I have a few advertising with daily 5€ budget. I targeted UK, USA, and EU, but I didn't get enough visitors to my Shopify store, but when I added INDIA to my targets on Facebook, I'm getting a lot of visitors from India.
Hi, I partially agree with what you said but there are nuances. If the ad sets (targeting groups) are separated and they are smaller than let’s say a few thousand people, your frequency level would go up to 5 in 2 days and you’ll be paying much higher CPAs. An important key factor is how big your audiences remain after you split them in different ad sets. + using CBO with minimum ad spent limit per ad set is preferred.
Can i have an example of how to set the minimum limited budgets, of a CBO of $20 per day with 4 ad sets? How many ad sets of those 4 should be minimum limited and how much $ each to a $20 cbo? For example: All 4 ad sets would get $5 each minimum? Or just the 1-2 of them and the remaining 2 with no limit? thank you in advance.
I'd suggest to try the second method. But also try multiple interests within one ad set. Especially when Meta Business Suite has already created interests for you. I've done some crazy results with these plug and play ad sets. (For those who are interested: CPC
Nice tips! I think your website traffic will increase as you get interaction by advertising. The secret to a good advertising campaign is to identify the right target audience and always be aware of what your competitors are doing. By using WASK these are pretty easy!
Good topic, Ben. Now, how to test along with various ad creatives? Test the ad creative first, before doing this? Or do this, and use all the various ad creatives within each ad set?
Sir very thanks for video its gives me a huge boost Because this is the same trick am using for my company ad & generating good leads. Happy to see what am doing for months you're also recommending the same❤❤❤ By the way sir if you want any advertiser in your team am always ready just to gain experience from you not money
First of all I can't thank you enough for what you doing. You provide a ton value there. If you don't mind I would like to ask a question when it comes to behavior/interest targeting part. Let me say for example that we have a service that we can provide online... For example online psychology 1-1 sessions but specifically for athletes. Does it have any meaning to target athletes and narrow down to Psychology or Personal development ? Or it is better to let the facebook algorithm figure things out by just targeting athletes?
EDIT: I wrote my comment before i'd seen the ending of the video. I see the point, and the approach is interesting. But what you are proposing pretty much contradicts Facebook's own recommendation of combining ad sets. Furthermore, for this approach to work / be more credible, you would need to exclude 4 interests from each ad set, otherwise you'd most likely have overlap. At least, that's my opinion :)
Brilliant video as always! One question I have is what if I’m not sure whether it is travel, sports or health that works better for my product…can I use audiences with multiples interests and then, let’s say travel is the winner, break that down as single interest audiences after? Thanks 😊
Thanks for all the great content Ben! We are a single product company. Curious how this fits with your single CBO campaign theory? Would you run something like this alongside your main campaign as a testing ground and then promote the winners into the main campaign alongside warm audiences and lookalikes? Basically - little confused how to approach audience testing AND scaling within the single CBO campaign structure 😂 thanks!
Along those lines - wouldn't CBO just allocate to the best ad set - so you wouldn't need to worry about turning the lower performers off? Alternatively, would it be advisable to target more broadly and just let FB algorithm do the work? I know I'm missing something - the concepts are just so hard to keep straight!
Thanks for the video. But i have never seen anyone doing multiple interests in 1 adset. Now all the videos teach you to use 1 interest per adset. Great video anyways.
For those with lower budgets, I suppose you could put one interest per ad set and then switch on CBO at the campaign level, and just rely on facebook's algorithm to invest the most money in the best performing ad set? As we only spend £100 per day, I think if we broke down £20 per ad set we wouldn't get good results as this is less that our average CPA.
Hi Ben, based on my personal experience, Facebook would automatically compare the performance of each interest group and then reallocate my budget to the groups that outperform others. In other words, taking yours as an example, theoretically, Facebook could quickly find out that Vacations group and Adventure Travel group perform better, and soon Facebook will minimize or even stop showing ads to the audience in rest groups and leaving all the budget on the two outperforming ones. In this case, it's the same as you manually testing and choosing the interest groups to advertise. On top of that, the standard setting gets out of the learning phase faster, costing the advertiser less in the beginning. What's your thought?
Hi Steven, I think you make a good point but there are two issues with it. Firstly, I think you are giving Facebook a bit too much credit to be able to distinguish between the interests you have added into a single ad set. I think the people in there are not as segregated as you say. Secondly, you don't find out which works best - which is critical for improving results with future campaigns, ad sets, etc.
As a beginner in Ecom, I love your videos. I set my ad sets as per your video. Can you advise. I'm from Australia. 'I've been running a campaign and already spent $100 and No Sales on a $10 budget with 5 ad sets /Interests & 3 videos creatives. Should I kill the campaign?
so would you say we can combine what you suggested with what facebook suggested? 1. testing and find out all the targeting that's top perfomirng and efficient, 2. step 2, then consolidating the ad sets to allow it work better per facebook?
Great video Ben👏👏...could i ask a quick doubt what about ads...can we keep it same for all the adset or change them and experiment with the best performing adset...thanks in advance for your time🙏
Thanks for this Video, it was very useful. If a campaign has 5 adsets targeting say Travel as in the video, would you exclude the other interests in each respective adset? My assumption that you avoid duplicating ads being presented to the same audience. Your thoughts please . . . . . . .
What happens when you are a local business and the keywords you are running separately have a low audience and there is too much overlap among them? I'm also seeing that Facebook tends to allocate more budget to Ad sets where there are higher audiences instead of the ones that perform better
Great video Ben👏👏...could i ask a quick doubt what about ads...can we keep it same for all the adset or change them and experiment with the best performing adset...thanks in advance for your time🙏
very basic campaign structure.. I guess someone that is really a beginner might see this info as useful, but I hope you will start putting out some more advanced content since this basic stuff is easy to find & learn by almost any channel here on RU-vid.
I think it’s easy to assume that simple is not effective. In my experience the exact opposite is often true. That said - I cover all sorts on my channel - the video before this one for example had a more complex structure if that’s what you’re looking for
Spot on once again, Ben. Thanks. Curious to know, does it make sense to combine a couple of better performng targeting options down the line when we are introducing new creatives/offers and//or starting new campaigns? Just to help out with easier campaign management.
Thanks a lot. I like to follow the logic all the way through so for me it doesn't. The exception would be when the best performing audiences end up being too small to run for very long by themselves.
Hey Ben, thanks for making these great videos! Any suggestion on how long to run the ad sets before deciding which to remove, and which to expand on? New to all this, currently working on our first campaign ever!! 😲
Thanks Mark - we usually start with a 7 days assessment window but that is with a reasonably large budget. If you are operating with a smaller budget then you're going to want to expand that.
Great info. Thanks for sharing it. I'm currently running an ad the standard way. My target audience has about 25 topics (I sell science themed gifts). Separating out 25 topics seems a bit much. Do I have too many target audience topics to begin with?
Hey Ben thanks for all the fantastic content is really top notch!! When a beginner just starting a conversion campaign…how much would you advise spending on an interest test adset before you give up because of no conversions and try another interest? Would this be a % or multiple of the product s cost? Or another target? Thanks for any help
Hi Ben! Thank you for all the knowledge you are sharing I would Like to know, if I want to target audience for shoes. especially women's heeled sandals. What is the right target audience ? Many thanks
Hi Ben! Thank you for all the knowledge you are sharing I have a question, as I can see your guidelines is 1interest per as set but I also observe when you made 5 ad set you keep all interest which will have similar audience, don't you think after only few days this campaign will face overlapping issue? Or you just give similar interest for example or you actually give similar interests in each ad set
Hey Ben, I think this topic is quite controversial. Let's say you test these interests in isolation, but they are very very similar and the audience overlap is high. Once you spend even as little as 50$/day per ad set, you start competing with yourself which leads to a higher cost. On the other hand, categorizing the ad sets with multiple interests that have similarities do make sense more. I'd love to hear your thoughts about this.
Overlapping customers are not a bad thing, surprisingly, I think it will be the same as the effort you put into retargeting. The point being, this technique will help you to take actions, not to have one complete flawless ad set. And after you have that insight you can create more on-point targetings towards your customers.
@@tinooze Ok, let's say that you found one interest that give you good results, where do go from here? What kind of information is giving you unless just running ads with interests related to jewelry. What I do instead is categorizing the audiences with its interests which to me make more sense. Imagine, 1 ad set with all competitors, 1 ad set with the cusomers' hobbies , 1 ad set with magazines they read.
@@BestKiteboardingOfficial Actually, it hurts because you are competing with yourself, and especially when you are on a low budget , this is extremely important because every dollar is important to spend efficiently, but this is just my opinion.
Hey Ben, I’ve been using the standard approach and will start testing this way. What’s your recommended ad budget for the better method? Assuming a 1k-1.5k monthly ad budget for a local business
Hey Ben, a fan and a follower of your work and content but one think I would like to tell you is AUDIO on your videos are really low i have to pump up my speakers to full to hear you. please look into this.
what use is similar : 1 campaign WC 4 adsets ( 4 interests ) 4 ads per adset ( one pic, on video, carousel, combined pics as a video ) duplicate ads So, I have this structure : 1>4>32 I can add more creatives, or adsets, it depend to the product/service
Great video, we do this too. However, this depends on whether those interest / behavior audiences have large enough audiences. Facebook's audiences are getting smaller and smaller, and so audiences need to be combined more and more.. But yes, Facebook's warnings are ridiculous!
Thank you for your teachings! I would like to ask, with the 5 different ad set names you made, are the image or video ads used the same for all 5 ad sets?
We have detected that the audience size variance is greater than 50% between the ad set ........... with largest audience size 13,100,000 and ad set ........ with the smallest audience 55,900. With the current setup, delivery can skew towards the ad set with the larger audience size given the lower cost opportunities available. Ben Facebook says when the variance is above 50% directly moves to larger and ignores the smaller audience. You didn't mention anything about It. also I want to ask you excluding interests for preventing overlapping is a bad idea or not ?
Is this relevant if we have a small niche audience (ex. Insurance Agents) and the individual ad sets, even if we upload a list of 200k insurance agents, is too low to target and therefor too expensive(showing 0 leads, 5k-15k reach @ $200/day). I've had to add the Lookalike of that custom audience in the same ad set just to get to a point where we can run at $65/day to get an expected 2-10 leads. (6k-17k reach). I love the idea but it seems when i try to target like this I can't find a large enough audience. Thanks for the great videos. Just starting in Paid Media.
Thanks Ben, great video. One question, though: if I am located in a region that is very much less populated than the UK you are targeting. Let's say I have a total audience of 15000 people with the "merged" interests/behaviours. Should I use Advantage+ budget or will I mess up the data about the performance? I also sometimes work with very limited budgets: can I use Advantage+ or the strategy just won't work properly?
Thanks :) If you are targeting multiple different targeting options with very different audience sizes then I would be very careful with that as some of your smaller ones probably won't get many impressions. Otherwise I think it's fine.
Ben, I never learned so much about Facebook ads, thank you much! My question is: Once I have figured out my winners targeting, is it a good idea to use them for my New Omnipresent Campaign instead of adding a bunch of targets? Although doing this, it is going to make my audience much bigger than 50.000. What is your advice for this? I hope my question was clear! Thanks a lot! 😀
Happy to help. I wouldn't apply this targeting approach to an omnipresent content campaign. For that I would use a different ad set structure, where each ad set includes the same targeting option. I'd revisit my vids on Omnipresent content for more details :)
Your budget for your ad/audience test should be 3 times your target cost per acquisition. So if your product is $50 and your goal is to acquire customers and break even on your ad spend with a ROAS of 1, then your testing budget is $150, $50 x 3. So to answer your question... spend $50 per day for 3 days or $25 per day for 6 days, to test your audiences. Cheers!
Thank you very much! What is your idea about copy in FB/IG reeels format? Do you think it is still important? Or is it better to provide more info in the video and/or in the leadform?
My issue is that you are relying on the data from Facebook telling you which ad set is performing best. But the data at this point is garbage and doesn’t reflect what actually going on with all these changes. The only thing I base me campaigns off these days on is link clicks which is one of the last accurate data points on the ad manager to know which as sets to turn off even with conversion api
Should we add all focus products in one adset or have separate adsets for each product or different campaign for each product? Can you pls give me your views on this?
Hey Ben-love this, thanks! Do you suggest combining multiple lookalike audiences or keeping them in 1 ad set? I've noticed that my lookalike audiences aren't performing too well and Facebook recommends that I combine ad sets. Do you think that I may be competing against myself given that each lookalike source audience is very similar? What do you suggest?
Great one Ben! But something that is unclear for most us here is that, do we use ABO or CBO for this setup. That’s the missing piece of puzzle. Please help! Thanks.
@@BenHeath thanks mate! So you mean CBO and then equally distribute budget manually or let the algorithm do its job? I think its the example you gave which spilts 200 bucks equally that raises this question .
Ben, using your example, when doing this, would you recommend turning off the "Standard Ad Set" while you test the "Better Campaign"? At present (I'm following your exact strategy) I still have both running, and have concerns about overlap.
Great information. Does this work with local service based businesses who do not have huge audience sizes to start with (under 150k)? If I cannot target by interest due to too small an audience, can I create ad sets based on ages? We do see differences in conversions based on age.
Hi, great tip, just wondering if it will work for a localised targeting, e.g. a 3-mile radius of a store. Why I'm asking is that the audience size will be significantly smaller if they are separated out into different AdSets, and think it might be too restrictive for the ads to perform, any solution around this if I were to experiment with this strategy with a smaller audience size? Thanks.
Hypothetical question: If I set up an Facebook ad saying "David, get your widgets for half price" and target males between 18 and 65+ will Facebook/Meta's AI work out that the advert gets a much higher click-through/conversion rate when shown to people called David than it does for people not called David? If so how long would it likely take?